Experience of Sleeved 289 block?

Information about builds and rebuilds, post away!
Bill Cooke

Experience of Sleeved 289 block?

Post by Bill Cooke »

Hello, I'm new to t289r, and in process of planning and budgeting for a Hawk 289 build. Would love the authenticity of a 289 block, but they seem very rare! Has anyone used a sleeved block (289 or 302) at all? I understand they have been used many times to allow higher power to be produced for racing and drag cars, but are they any use for "normal" running? - what is their longevity / reliability like?. Is a 289 block too much to hope for, and I resign myself to a 302 with +30 max?
Thanks for any advice and experiences shared

Regards
Bill
Roger King

Re: Experience of Sleeved 289 block?

Post by Roger King »

Hello Bill, and welcome.
289 blocks and 302 blocks are virtually identical and have only a very few visual differences in appearance. 302 blocks are more easy to come by, but you need to clarify what you are trying to achieve. Why do you want a 289 block, and what style of car are you building? If you are building a replica of a leafspring 289 (called 'slabside' in popular parlance), and you want the engine to look exactly right, you will need an early 5-bolt 289 which is a completely different casting having, as the name suggests, only 5 bellhousing bolt bosses instead of the much more common 6. The 5-bolt was only used from roughly '62-'64, in cars such as Fairlanes and Comets. The 6-bolt block was much more common and developed for the later Mustang and Falcon etc., broadly speaking.