Brake test switch

Information about builds and rebuilds, post away!
Post Reply
simonjrwinter
T289R Member
T289R Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: London

Brake test switch

Post by simonjrwinter » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:16 pm

Is a test switch required in the brake warning light circuit for IVA or is the handbrake switch considered sufficient?
Thanks
Simon
TR6 (V8) Hawk 289 FIA (V8) Doing my bit for global warming.

User avatar
clive
T289R Member
T289R Member
Posts: 2829
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:18 am
Location: Perth

Re: Brake test switch

Post by clive » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:01 am

Back in the day, the handbrake switch was the test switch for the brake light warning circuit. I don't think that the wiring has been altered.
Cheers, Clive.

(If I'm not here I'm in my workshop or on the golf course!)

simonjrwinter
T289R Member
T289R Member
Posts: 400
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: London

Re: Brake test switch

Post by simonjrwinter » Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:51 am

Thanks Clive. I thought it might be a bit daft to have two methods of testing.....
Simon
TR6 (V8) Hawk 289 FIA (V8) Doing my bit for global warming.

User avatar
amulheirn
T289R Committee
T289R Committee
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: Surrey/Hampshire
Contact:

Re: Brake test switch

Post by amulheirn » Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:52 pm

I didn't realise this, but there was an almost invisible test button on the top of my reservoirs - the IVA tester found it. Mine was a very small white plastic sticky-up thing, and the cap was also white plastic, so I had no idea it was there

So if you have a reservoir from Gerry that looks a little bit like this, see if yours has one of these too. :

https://www.carbuildersolutions.com/uk/ ... voir-130mm

Jerryedmans
T289R Member
T289R Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 12:56 am

Re: Brake test switch

Post by Jerryedmans » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:46 pm

I asked same question. There were no buttons on the reservoirs provided in Gerry's brake kit, but the way they tested mine was by unscrewing the lid of the reservoir and lifting it out. The float sinks drops to the bottom and makes contact and the light comes on.

Cheers

Post Reply