Page 1 of 1

Brake test switch

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:16 pm
by simonjrwinter
Is a test switch required in the brake warning light circuit for IVA or is the handbrake switch considered sufficient?
Thanks
Simon

Re: Brake test switch

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:01 am
by clive
Back in the day, the handbrake switch was the test switch for the brake light warning circuit. I don't think that the wiring has been altered.

Re: Brake test switch

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 9:51 am
by simonjrwinter
Thanks Clive. I thought it might be a bit daft to have two methods of testing.....
Simon

Re: Brake test switch

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:52 pm
by amulheirn
I didn't realise this, but there was an almost invisible test button on the top of my reservoirs - the IVA tester found it. Mine was a very small white plastic sticky-up thing, and the cap was also white plastic, so I had no idea it was there

So if you have a reservoir from Gerry that looks a little bit like this, see if yours has one of these too. :

https://www.carbuildersolutions.com/uk/ ... voir-130mm

Re: Brake test switch

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:46 pm
by Jerryedmans
I asked same question. There were no buttons on the reservoirs provided in Gerry's brake kit, but the way they tested mine was by unscrewing the lid of the reservoir and lifting it out. The float sinks drops to the bottom and makes contact and the light comes on.

Cheers